Baltimore Comic-Con logo

Press Release

Jim Lee, creator of Wildcats and Gen13, illustrator of Marvel Comics' X-Men
and DC Comics' "Hush" story arc of Batman, will appear as a Special Guest
for the September 8 - 9, 2007 Baltimore Comic-Con.

Lee, who broke in at Marvel with art stints on Punisher: War Zone and Alpha
, defined the X-Men franchise for a generation of fans before
departing to co-found Image Comics in 1992. After launching Wildcats, Gen13
and many other titles there, he sold his studio, Wildstorm Productions, to
DC Comics. Since then, he has illustrated notable runs on Batman and
Superman, as well as working on a number of other projects.

"Jim Lee has to be considered one of the most influential creators working
in comics today," said Marc Nathan, the convention's promoter. "In addition
to being an artist who many others try to imitate, he is someone our fans
have requested since before his first appearance at the show a few years ago
We are extremely happy to welcome him back to Baltimore."

The Baltimore Comic-Con will be held at the Baltimore Convention Center,
within easy walking distance of Baltimore's tourist-friendly Inner Harbor.
The show will host the Harvey Awards for the second time, and as with last
year's convention it will be followed by the Diamond Comic
Distributors/Alliance Game Distributors Retailer Summit.

Retailers participating in the Baltimore Comic-Con will carry comics ranging
from the oldest known titles to the most recent. Guests include creators
from at least six decades of comic book work.

In addition to Guest of Honor Mike Mignola (Hellboy), the show's line-up
already includes Kyle Baker (Why I Hate Saturn), Jim Califiore (Exiles),
Howard Chaykin (American Flagg), Mark Chiarello (New Frontier), Frank Cho
(Mighty Avengers), Steve Conley (The Escapist), Todd DeZago (Telos), Rich
Faber (Roboy Red), Al Feldstein (MAD), Brendon and Brian Fraim (Knights of
the Dinner Table), Ron Garney (Amazing Spider-Man), John Gallagher (Buzzboy)
Michael Golden (Micronauts), Jimmy Gownley (Amelia Rules!), Cully Hamner
(Firearm), Dean Haspiel (Opposable Thumbs), Adam Hughes (Wonder Woman), J.G.
Jones (52), Barry Kitson (The Champions), Ron Marz (Samurai: Heaven & Earth)
Mark McKenna (Banana Tail), Doug Murray (The 'Nam), Phil Noto (Jonah Hex),
Michael Avon Oeming (Powers), Brandon Peterson (X-Men), Eric Powell (The
Goon), John Romita, Sr. (Amazing Spider-Man, sponsored by The Hero
Initiative), Don Rosa (The Life & Times of Scrooge McDuck, sponsored by
Gemstone Publishing), Craig Rosseau (Ruule), Andy Runton (Owly), Alex Saviuk
(Web of Spider-Man), Mark Sparacio (Heroes for Hire), Jim Starlin
(Dreadstar), Herb Trimpe (G.I. Joe), Billy Tucci (Shi), J.C. Vaughn (24),
Neil Vokes (Wicked West 2), and Mark Waid (The Brave and the Bold).

Publishers committed to attend include DC Comics, Gemstone Publishing, Top
Cow Productions, and Top Shelf Productions. Service organizations attending
will include The Hero Initiative and the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund.

Additional guests and event programming will be announced in the coming
weeks and months.

The show will once again host the Harvey Awards, the comic book awards voted
on by industry professionals. Nominating ballots are now available on the
Harvey Awards site with the final deadline for nominations falling on April
4, 2007. Returning for a second year, Kyle Baker will be the Master of
Ceremonies for the Harvey Awards dinner, to be held Saturday night,
September 8. For additional details on the Harveys, visit www.harveyawards

The convention has created a MySpace page,,
for those who want to receive additional updates. The show's regular site,, will also carry guest lists and other pertinent