Adam P. KnaveD.J. Kirkbride, and Nick Brokenshire, the creators behind Amelia Cole, are launching a new book with another young female fantasy protagonist, but this time around, the young woman in question is King Arthur. Sort of. Maybe. In a sense.

The Once And Future Queen is the story of Rani Arturus, a teenage girl who goes to England to compete at chess, and ends up in a much bigger game than she anticipated when she stumbles upon the sword Excalibur. After pulling the sword from the stone --- which is how these things work, FYI --- she finds herself positioned as a prophesied ruler, which means everyone, including Merlin, suddenly wants something from her.

This book looks like a lot of fun, especially for fans of Amelia Cole, King Arthur, and teenage girls who kick butt.

The Once And Future Queen #1 of 5 is out March 8, 2017 from Dark Horse.

 

 

Here's the official word from the publisher:

Dark Horse courts a twenty-first-century King Arthur adventure with The Once and Future Queen and its golden creative team. Adam P. Knave (Amelia Cole, This Starry Deep) and D.J. Kirkbride (Amelia Cole, Never Ending) are the bards for this modern Arthurian tale, while Nickolas Brokenshire (Amelia Cole) provides his illustrative skills to the noble new series, and Frank Cvetkovic (Artful Daggers, The Black Wraith) letters it.

The Once and Future Queen finds Rani Arturus on a trip to the United Kingdom to compete in a chess championship. The multiethnic teen girl finds herself immersed in magic and mystery after she encounters the legendary sword Excalibur. With the support of a surprisingly modern Merlin, Rani must fight to become the queen humankind has been waiting for.
“Arthurian legend is such an incredibly rich playground to work in, so we decided to utilize the core concept, but give it some twists and turns, updating it to reflect today’s world, not yesterday’s,” explained The Once and Future Queen writers Adam P. Knave and D.J. Kirkbride. “We each seem to gravitate toward stories that reflect the world in terms of diversity and structure, while still loving old myth and finding new ways to bring it forward.”

The Once and Future Queen’s first issue (of five) goes on sale March 8, 2017.