Valiant Comics is teaming up with multimedia store Hastings to offer Comics College, a series of exclusive video workshops featuring Valiant creators and shown at Hastings stores across the country. The workshops begin on January 30, and run for four consecutive Saturdays. The instructors are Fred Van Lente, Robert Venditti, Jody Houser, and David Baron. Hastings ran a similar series last year called The Craft of Comics, but promises that this one will delve deeper into the mechanics of the industry.

Naturally, there's also a contest. Participants can submit an illustration featuring Valiant characters, and the winner will be published as Hastings' exclusive variant cover of the 4001 AD FCBD Special.

From the Press Release:

 

Broadcasting into more than 140 Hastings locations nationwide, each installment of “Comics College” offers an inside look at the process of creating comics from start to finish. Featuring a new conversation with a different Valiant creator each week, join us here as some of the brightest talents in comics today examine the most important aspects of working in the comics industry today – from getting your first big break and writing your first script to the finer points of portfolio reviews for artists and editors alike…and much more!
Plus: Valiant is giving each Hastings viewer their shot at their chance to win the prize of a lifetime – their first professional published comics debut – with the official "Comics College" contest! Over the course of the “Comics College” event, aspiring artists nationwide are encouraged to illustrate and submit their favorite Valiant comics character in a captivating scene of their own choosing. From there, the winning piece will then be published as the official art for Hastings' exclusive variant cover for the VALIANT: 4001 A.D. FCBD SPECIAL – hitting Hastings stores everywhere for Free Comic Book Day 2016!

Creators scheduled to stream during the workshop include:
WEEK ONE – HOW TO WRITE COMICS
Fred Van Lente (Writer, Archer & Armstrong; Ivar, Timewalker)
January 30th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)
WEEK TWO – HOW COMICS ARE MADE
Robert Venditti (Writer, X-O Manowar; Wrath of the Eternal Warrior)
February 6th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)
WEEK THREE – HOW TO BREAK INTO COMICS
Jody Houser (Writer, Faith)
February 13th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)
WEEK FOUR – PORTFOLIO REVIEW
David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
February 20th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

Contact your local Hastings location or visit GoHastings.com/ComicsCollege for more details and complete contest guidelines. Beginning on January 30th, prepare yourself for a crash course in making comics like a pro with a priceless treasure trove of behind-the-scenes insights…coming soon to a Hastings location near you!