Dwayne McDuffie Diversity Award

'Ms. Marvel' Wins Dwayne McDuffie Award For Diversity in Comics
Ms. Marvel has won the second annual Dwayne McDuffie Award For Diversity In Comics at a ceremony held this weekend at Long Beach Comic Expo. Aside from honoring Ms. Marvel and other diverse works being published today, the event celebrated the life and career of the late McDuffie, with friends and collaborators in attendance to share stories and lessons from the legendary creator.
Moon Girl, Fresh Romance, Ms Marvel Among McDuffie Nominees
Five nominees have been announced for the Dwayne McDuffie Award for Diversity in Comics, which will be given at the Long Beach Comic Expo on February 20th. The award is meant to recognize work that promotes diversity in comics, whether on the page or on the creative side, and is named for the late Dwayne McDuffie, who was an outspoken advocate for diversity through his work in comics and animation.
Submission Deadline Fast Approaching For Dwayne McDuffie Award
December 31 is the deadline to submit your work for consideration for the Second Annual Dwayne McDuffie Award. The award will be given on February 20 at the Long Beach Comic Expo, and recognizes the promotion of diversity in American comics. According to the award's director, Neo Edmund, this includes widening the diversity of characters and creators within the comics medium.
Nilah Magruder's 'MFK' Wins First McDuffie Diversity Award
Last weekend, the Long Beach Comic Expo presented the first annual Dwayne McDuffie Diversity Award, named for the late writer whose career was marked by a commitment to creating a more diverse cast of characters and creators in both comics and animation. Actor Phil LaMarr --- best known to superhero fans as the voice of Green Lantern on Justice League cartoons produced and frequently written by McDuffie --- served as MC for the event, and the ceremony included speeches from creators Reginald Hudlin, Denys Cowan, and Charlotte Fullerton, who is also McDuffie's widow. It was Fullerton who announced the winner: Nilah Magruder, nominated for her webcomic, M.F.K.