Steve Mannion

'Popeye Classic Comics' Covers Are Strong to the Finich
'Popeye Classic Comics' Covers Are Strong to the Finich
IDW has made excellent, if limited, use of Popeye after they acquired the license for E.C. Segar's iconic comic strip character. They published the excellent 12-issue series featuring original material by Roger Langridge and a handful of other artists that managed to capture some of the raucous spirit of the original Segar comedy adventures. They published a very weird Mars Attacks Popeye one-shot crossover by Martin Powell and Terry Beatty. And, since 2012, they've been publishing Popeye Classic Comics, which reprints the comic book work of long-time Popeye cartoonist Bud Sagendorf. While the content may be classic, the marketing has been decidedly modern. The series has often featured variant covers, a popular tactic for claiming rack space in comic book shops. Unlike most comics, however, Popeye Classic — a product of IDW's relationship with Yoe Books — rather exclusively features excellent, often oddball artwork from some unlikely artists.
Crowd Funding Watch: ‘Fearless Dawn’ Raises $15K from Fans of Pretty Girls and Gross Dinosaurs [Video]
Crowd Funding Watch: ‘Fearless Dawn’ Raises $15K from Fans of Pretty Girls and Gross Dinosaurs [Video]
Platforms like Kickstarter and IndieGoGo have given creators with projects than tend to skew a little more esoteric a way to raise money outside of getting published through traditional routes. Sometimes, however, the crowd sourced sites give the people what they want...
Tales from the Crypt Sells Out
Tales from the Crypt Sells Out
Press Release New stories of horror in the EC Comics tradition prove monstrously popular Papercutz' Tales from the Crypt #1, which revived the legendary EC Comics horror comic book, has sold out its entire 25,000-copy print run. The issue, which shipped in June, is the first of an ongoing, bi-monthly series from the publisher of the popular Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys comics ...