You know that feeling you get, like an icy katana to your soul, every time you remember that R. Kelly's 1997 Batman and Robin soundtrack contribution "Gotham City" happened? Well good news! By almost all accounts the soundtrack for Warner Bros. Interactive and Rocksteady Studios' Batman: Arkham City video game won't cut to the core of you. In fact, if you're cool with bands like Coheed and Cambria, The Damned Things, Panic! At The Disco, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club, Serj Tankian (and... former American Idol contestant Daughtry), you may even dig it. Each track is inspired by greater Batman mythology, rather than simply Arkham City, so between 12 tracks there's a strong chance fans will get something more tolerable than lyrics about Batman's hometown.Check out the full tracklisting to see if anything catches your eye:

1. Panic! At The Disco - Mercenary
2. Coheed and Cambria - Deranged
3. The Duke Spirit - Creature
4. Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Shadow On The Run
5. Blaqk Audio - Afterdark
6. The Raveonettes - Oh, Stranger
7. (Crosses) - The Years
8. The Damned Things - Trophy Widow
9. Daughtry - Drown In You
10. The Boxer Rebellion - Losing You
11. Serj Tankian - Total Paranoia
(Bonus Collector's Edition Track)
12. A Place to Bury Strangers - In The Shadow

I can't speak for the comic cred of the other acts on the soundtrack, but Coheed and Cambira and The Damned Things are solid choices when it comes to songwriters who love comics. Between his music-based The Armory Wars and Killaudio series at Boom! Studios, Claudio Sanchez of C&C has his name in as many comic books as album credits. Similarly, The Damned Things' Scott Ian (also of Anthrax) has wrote Lobo: Highway to Hell for DC Comics, with drummer Andy Hurley being a vocal comics fan. The band's music video for their single "We've Got a Situation Here," not-so-subtly points out their affection for the medium as well, with a superhero comic aesthetic and storyline.

Batman: Arkham City - The Album drops on October 4 in stores, online and as a downloadable code with the collector's edition of Batman: Arkham City. Arkham City itself arrives in stores October 18.

More From ComicsAlliance