At Marvel Comics' "Next Big Thing" panel at FanExpo Canada over the weekend, the publisher released a generous amount of new artwork from its previously announced "Season One" line of graphic novels, which are aimed at new readers and depict early adventures of popular Marvel superheroes including Daredevil, X-Men, Fantastic Four and Spider-Man. As Marvel Executive Editor Tom Brevoort explained in an interview with USA Today, the Season One initiative will not seek to reconfigure the characters in any way along the lines of DC's "The New 52" relaunch, but rather provide a more modern aesthetic for the characters' origins.

Daredevil: Season One will come courtesy of writer Antony Johnston and artist Wellinton Alves; Fantastic Four: Season One is by written by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa and drawn by David Marquez; Spider-Man: Season One is in progress with writer Cullen Bunn and artist Neil Edwards; and X-Men: Season One will feature the work of Dennis Hopeless and Jamie McKelvie. All covers are by Julian Totino, and you can see those and loads of preview art below.

More From ComicsAlliance