Deadpool. Mercenary. Superhero. Weapon X survivor. And Writer’s Guild of America nominee for Best Adapted freaking Screenplay.

Yes, the surprise announcement came today, with Fox’s smash X-Men spinoff picking up one of the five 2016 nods for best script of the year adapted from previously existing material. It joined FencesHidden FiguresNocturnal Animals, and the intellectual sci-fi film Arrival.

The WGA’s Best Original Screenplay category looks a little more like the standard Oscars race, with Best Picture frontrunners La La LandManchester by the Sea, and Moonlight up against the historical drama Loving and the critically acclaimed neo-Western Hell or High Water.

It is kind of strange to see Deadpool amongst these awards season releases, but as the Los Angeles Times notes, the WGA does have a history of superhero favoritism, of both the Marvel and DC varieties. They previously nominated both The Dark Knight and Guardians of the Galaxy for adapted screenplay awards. Personally, I’d put both of those films in a separate league from Deadpool, but hey; I ain’t in the Writer’s Guild of America for a reason. (For the record, if given a vote in each category, I’d pick Manchester and Fences).

The 2017 WGA Awards will be announced on February 19. The full nominees:

Best Original Screenplay

  • Hell or High Water, Taylor Sheridan
  • La La Land, Damien Chazelle
  • Loving, Jeff Nichols
  • Manchester by the Sea, Kenneth Lonergan
  • Moonlight, Barry Jenkins

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Arrival, Eric Heisserer
  • Deadpool, Rhett Reese & Paul Wernick
  • Fences, August Wilson
  • Hidden Figures, Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi
  • Nocturnal Animals, Tom Ford


More From ComicsAlliance