There are a number of outlets to support the comic book community's first line of defense against censorship, but at $3.50 a pack, Cryptozoic Entertainment's Liberty trading cards might be one of the easiest ways to raise money for the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund. Arriving in stores this Tuesday, September 13, each pack of five cards (and one nine-card chase set) draws from a 72-card set that chronicles the censorship battles waged against free speech in comics and cartooning since the Golden Age with cards from (and by) creators like Neil Gaiman, Gail Simone, Robert Kirkman, Stan Sakai, Rob Liefeld and many more.Naturally, all proceeds benefit the CBLDF in its ongoing campaign to defend creators, including the Fund's recent case involving an American reader who faces up to a year in prison for owning digital manga that Canadian customs deemed child pornography. The Liberty trading cards certainly aren't as hilarious as Eclipse Enterprises' 1992 Famous Comic Book Creators trading card series, but they're for a much better cause.

ICv2 has a full list of creators contributing sketch cards:

Daniel Abarca, Jason Adams, Kokkinaki Axilleas, Josh Blaylock, Chris "Cabbie" Bradbury, Joel Carroll, David Castro, Kourtis Charalabos, Chad Cicconi, Richard Clark, Mickey Clausen, Max Clotfelter, Nikki Cook, Aston Roy Cover, Joey Dangerous, David Day, George Deep, Pablo Diaz, Evan Dorkin, Sean Dove, Jason Durden, Steve Ellis, Randy Emberlin, Gene Espy, Elliot Fernandez, Jerry Fleming, Juan Antonio Fontanez Jr., Chris Foreman, Simon Fraser, Paul Fricke, Paul Hoppe, Neil Gaiman, Brian Germain, Chris Giarrusso, Rusty Gilligan, Kate Glasheen, Jason Gonzalez, Daniel P. Gorman, Jin Han, Ingrid Hardy, John Haun, Rantz Hosely, Lara Hudson, Austin Janowsky, Tyler Jeffers, Cory Jones, Joe Keatinge, Indigo Kelleigh, Gary Kezele, James Kolchalka, Brian Koln, Peter Kuper, Erik Larsen, Ross Leach, Brian Lee, Alayna Lemmer, Tim Levandoski, Rob Liefeld, Lak Lim, Ozzy Longoria, Larry Marder, Mat Mastos, Henry Martinez, Scott McCloud, Chris Metzen, Remy EisuMokhtar, Rich Molinelli, Benjamin Mora, Bill Morrison, Marat Mychels, Diana Nock, Ryan Ottley, Don Pedicini Jr., Ashleigh Popplewell, WhilcePortacio, Frank Quietly, Wilson Ramos, Mike Richardson, Ian Yoshio Roberts, Darrick Robertson, Tone Rodriguez, Victor Julio Rodriguez, Mike Rooth, Jason Roussel, David Ryan, Larry 'Slickaway' Schlekewy, Don Simpson, Chip Skelton, Matt Slay, Dan Smith, Jeff Smith, Danielle Soloud, Vince Sunico, Adam Talley, Philip Tan, Mark Tannacore, Christian James Thomas, Bianca Thompson, Chris Thorne, Bobby Timony, Jesse Toves, Rick Veitch, George Webber, Shannon Wheeler, Eric White and Mike White.

See images from the card series below:

[Via ICv2]

More From ComicsAlliance