Ignatz Awards ImageSPX 2007 will host the 11th annual presentation of the Ignatz Awards, a celebration of outstanding achievement in comics and cartooning. The Ignatz is named after Krazy Kat's creator George Herriman's brick-wielding mouse, recognizes exceptional work that challenges popular notions of what comics can achieve, both as an art form and as a means of personal expression.

The Ignatz Awards are a festival prize, the first of such in the United States comic book industry. The nominees for the ballot were determined by a panel of five comic artists, which will be voted on by the attendees during SPX. The Ignatz Awards ceremony will be held at the North Bethesda Marriott Convention Center in Bethesda, Maryland on Saturday, October 13th, 2007 at 9:00 PM.

For more information on the Small Press Expo and the Ignatz Awards, please visit http://www.spxpo.com.

Outstanding Artist
Vanessa Davis, Papercutter #4 (Tugboat Press), Kramers Ergot #6 (Buenaventura Press)
John Hankiewicz, Asthma (Sparkplug Comic Books)
Jaime Hernandez, Love & Rockets (Fantagraphics Books)
Rutu Modan, Exit Wounds (Drawn & Quarterly)
Ted Stearn, Fuzz & Pluck in Splitsville #4 (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Anthology or Collection
Curses by Kevin Huizenga (Drawn & Quarterly)
Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 by Gabrielle Bell, Martin Cendrera, and Dan Zettwoch (Drawn & Quarterly)
King-Cat Classix by John Porcellino (Drawn & Quarterly)
Misery Loves Comedy by Ivan Brunetti (Fantagraphics Books)
Moomin Book One by Tove Jansson (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Graphic Novel
Aya by Marguerite Abouet and Clement Oubrerie (Drawn & Quarterly)
Bookhunter by Jason Shiga (Sparkplug Comic Books)
Don't Go Where I Can't Follow by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
Exit Wounds by Rutu Modan (Drawn & Quarterly)
House by Josh Simmons (Fantagraphics Books)

Outstanding Story
Delphine #1-2 by Richard Sala (Fantagraphics Books/Coconico Press)
Don't Go Where I Can't Follow by Anders Nilsen (Drawn & Quarterly)
The End #1 by Anders Nilsen (Fantagraphics Books/Coconico Press)
"Martha Gregory" by John Hankiewicz, Asthma (Sparkplug Comic Books)
"Untitled" by Gabrielle Bell, Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 (Drawn & Quarterly)

Promising New Talent
Gabrielle Bell, Lucky, Drawn & Quarterly Showcase Vol. 4 (Drawn & Quarterly)
Scott Campbell, Flight Vol. 4 (Ballantine Books), Hickee vol. 3 #3 (Alternative Comics)
Lilli Carre, You Ain't No Dancer Vol. 2 (New Reliable Press)
Brandon Graham, King City (TokyoPop)
Tom Neely, The Blot (I Will Destroy You)

Outstanding Series
Atlas by Dylan Horrocks (Drawn & Quarterly)
Delphine by Richard Sala (Fantagraphics Books/Coconico Press)
Dungeon by Lewis Trondheim, Joann Sfar, and various (NBM)
Love & Rockets by Los Bros Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
Mourning Star by Kazimir Strzepek (Bodega Distribution)

Outstanding Comic
Doctor Id by Adam McGovern and Paolo Leandri (Indie Ink Studios)
Fuzz & Pluck in Splitsville #4 by Ted Stearn (Fantagraphics Books)
Love & Rockets vol. 2 #18 by Los Bros Hernandez (Fantagraphics Books)
Monster Parade #1 by Ben Catmull (Fantagraphics Books)
Optic Nerve #11 by Adrian Tomine (Drawn & Quarterly)

Outstanding Mini-Comic
Burning Building Comix by Jeff Zwirek
The Monkey and the Crab by Shawn Cheng and Sara Edward-Corbett
Noose by Mark Burrier
P.S. Comics #3 by Minty Lewis
Seven More Days of Not Getting Eaten by Matt Wiegle

Outstanding Online Comic
Achewood by Chris Onstad (www.achewood.com)
Grace by Kris Dresen (www.girlthrow.com/grace)
Persimmon Cup by Nick Bertozzi (www.act-i-vate.com)
Thingpart by Joe Sayers (www.jsayers.com/thingpart/thingpart.html)
Wondermark by David Malki (www.wondermark.com)

2007 Ignatz Jury
Sara Edward-Corbett
Paul Hornschemeier
Steve MacIsaac
Jesse Reklaw
Zack Soto

More From ComicsAlliance