Given our unimpeachable love for all things TRON, you can imagine our delight in seeing the first teaser trailer for TRON: Uprising, a new animated series set to debut on Disney XD next year. Set between the classic TRON film and last year's gorgeous TRON: Legacy, Uprising expands upon the mythology of The Grid with the help of an all-star voice cast that includes Bruce Boxleitner reprising the title role.

The nature of Uprising's story was always a bit mysterious, but a statement from Disney confirms the prequel series will focus on a young program who becomes protege to Tron himself, with the goal of freeing The Grid from the control of Clu, the villain seen in Legacy.

Produced by Disney Television Animation, the series follows Beck, a young program who becomes the unlikely leader of a revolution inside the computer world of The Grid. His mission is to free his home and friends from the reign of the villainous Clu and his henchman General Tesler. Beck will be trained by Tron – the greatest warrior the Grid has ever known. Tron will not only teach Beck the fighting skills he needs to challenge this brutal military occupation, but will be a guide and mentor to him as he grows beyond his youthful, impulsive nature into a courageous, powerful leader. Destined to become the new protector of the system, Beck adopts Tron's persona and becomes the archenemy of Tesler and his oppressive forces.

The series also stars Elijah Wood as Beck, Emmanuelle Chriqui as Paige, Mandy Moore as Mara, Paul Reubens as Pavel, Reginald VelJohnson as Able and Lance Henriksen as Tesler.

Most importantly, TRON: Uprising appears to have successfully ported the gorgeous Legacy aesthetic to television. The teaser also features music that's very reminiscent of the Daft Punk film score that we've written so much about over the last several months (or perhaps even an unreleased Daft Punk track?).

Just ahead of this Uprising trailer, Disney released details about the TRON: Legacy remix album, R3CONFIGUR3D, which features Daft Punk tracks filtered through the styles of the following artists:

01 The Glitch Mob: "Derezzed"

02 M83 vs. Big Black Delta: "Fall"

03 The Crystal Method: "The Grid/Game Has Changed"

04 Teddybears: "Adagio for Tron"

05 Ki:Theory: "The Son of Flynn"

06 Paul Oakenfold: "C.L.U."

07 Moby: "The Son of Flynn"

08 Boys Noize: "End of Line (Boys Noize Remix)"

09 Kaskade: "Rinzler"

10 Com Truise: "Enron Part II"

11 Photek: "End of Line"

12 The Japanese Popstars: "Arena"

13 Avicii: "Derezzed"

14 Pretty Lights: "Solar Sailor"

15 Sander Kleinenberg: "Tron Legacy (End Titles)"

On sale April 5, TRON: Legacy R3CONFIGUR3D can be pre-ordered in a variety of formats on the official TRON soundtrack website.

The animated series TRON: Uprising premieres in the summer of 2012.

More From ComicsAlliance