Tom Strong is returning to comics this summer with a new miniseries, Tom Strong and the Planet of Peril, from longtime series artist Chris Sprouse and writer Peter Hogan. Co-creator Alan Moore won't be involved with the series this time around, and the publishing imprint will be Vertigo, not the now-shuttered America's Best Comics, which was part of Wildstorm. Hogan isn't entirely new to the character, though. He wrote three issues of the original Tom Strong series back in 2004 and 2006, and the Tom Strong and the Robots of Doom miniseries in 2010.

Check out a synopsis of the series and Sprouse's full first-issue cover after the jump!

Here's how DC describes the series:

"It's the return of Tom Strong -- too bad he's powerless! The lives of his daughter Tesla and her unborn child both hang in the balance, and there's nothing Tom can do to save them...until he remembers the one thing that just might. To find it, he and Val Var Garm must journey to the far side of the galaxy, and the mysterious world known as...TERRA OBSCURA!"

The first issue of Tom Strong and the Planet of Peril goes on sale July 31.

[Via MTV Geek]