In Avengers #1.1, by Mark Waid and Barry Kitson, a new team of Avengers must figure out how to live up to their predecessors. But this is a flashback story, and the mostly green new team consists of Captain America, Hawkeye, the Scarlet Witch, and Quicksilver.

This five-part story, which will run alongside the regularly numbered Avengers issues, fills in the gaps of what happened in Avengers Vol. 1 #16, when all the founding Avengers left the team in the hands of a recently defrosted Steve Rogers and three former supervillains.

This isn't the first time Waid and Kitson have revisited Silver Age super-teams, as they did JLA: Year One with co-writer Brian Augustyn way back in 1999. Like that story, this one is an excellent chance to add a more modern take on human drama to a Silver Age story, which is exactly what they're great at.


Art by Barry Kitson
Art by Barry Kitson
Art by Barry Kitson
Variant Cover by Alan Davis
Variant Cover by Alex Maleev


Here's the official word from Marvel:

The old order changeth – more than you ever suspected! Today, Marvel is pleased to present your first look at AVENGERS #1.1 – a new 5 part story running alongside the highly anticipated Avengers ongoing series! From Eisner Award winning writer Mark Waid and artist Barry Kitson comes a secret from the Avengers past long since buried. For the first time ever, learn what really happened all those years ago when the founding Avengers turned their membership over to a set of new recruits. The recently thawed Captain America is joined by three reformed super villains – Hawkeye, Quicksilver and the Scarlet Witch. Yet as a new group of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes takes shape, uncover the story you were never told. A story that will have direct ramifications on the Avengers of today in Mark Waid and Mike Del Mundo’sAvengers ongoing series! It all starts this November when Waid and Kitson breathe new life into this classic team in AVENGERS #1.1!