The Will Eisner Comic Awards are the most prestigious in the comic book industry, and within the decorated history of winners there is no greater honor than being named to the ceremony's Hall of Fame. Today, the nominees for the 2017 awards have been unveiled, alongside four creators who have earned automatic entry into the Hall of Fame.

The judges for the 2017 Will Eisner Comic Awards have announced that newspaper cartoonist Milt Gross, Golden Age Wonder Woman co-creator H.G. Peter, Spy vs Spy's Antonio Prohias, and pioneering underground cartoonist Dori Seda will all receive automatic induction into the Hall of Fame for their varied and legendary contributions to the industry and the medium.


Antonio Prohias
Antonio Prohias / Mad Magazine


There will be four more inductees chosen by Eisner voters. The nominees for those positions are:

  • Peter Bagge
  • Howard Cruse
  • Steve Englehart
  • Justin Green
  • Roberta Gregory
  • Bill Griffith
  • Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez
  • Francoise Mouly
  • Jackie Ormes
  • George Pérez
  • P. Craig Russell
  • Posy Simmonds
  • Walt Simonson
  • Jim Starlin
  • Rumiko Takahashi
  • Garry Trudeau

The nominee shortlist was created by this year's judging panel of Alan Campbell, critic Rob Clough, retailer Jamie Newbold, academic Robert Moses Peaslee, librarian Dawn Rutherford, and writer Martha Thomases.

Voting is underway now, and if you meet the criteria to vote --- "a creator (writer, artist, cartoonist, colorist, letterer), a publisher or editor, a retailer (comics store owner or manager), a graphic novels librarian, or a comics historian/educator" --- you can sign in or register online now at

To find out more information about the nominees, head to the Eisner Awards' section of San Diego Comic Con's website.

More From ComicsAlliance