At a presentation to investors on Wednesday morning, Warner Bros CEO Kevin Tsujihara unveiled his studio's blockbuster movie slate for the next few years through to 2020, finally confirming the titles for an ambitious number of movies based on DC Comics superhero properties.

The announcement confirms that we will finally see a long-awaited Wonder Woman movie in 2017. Gal Gadot will reprise the role after 2016's Batman Vs. Superman: Dawn Of Justice. The announcement also includes the expected Justice League movie -- and a sequel -- the previously announced Suicide Squad movie, and pictures starring Justice League members Aquaman, Flash, Green Lantern, and Cyborg. This means DC now has one superhero movie in the works with a female lead, and three with non-white leads.

In addition to the DC movies, Tsujihira confirmed Fantastic Beasts movies for 2016, 2018 and 2020, based on a spin-off of J.K. Rowling's Harry Potter books; and three Lego movies for 2016 through 2018, starting with a Ninjago movie, then the previously announced Lego Batman movie, and finally The Lego Movie 2.

According to a tweet from Time Warner, this slate of DC movies does not preclude the possibility of additional Superman and Batman movies going into production in the same period. The slate also does not include the Sandman movie, based on Neil Gaiman's DC Vertigo comic, which actor Joseph Gordon-Levitt is producing and hopes to star in, or Guillermo Del Toro's long discussed Justice League Dark projeect. Presumably those pictures are not intended to be tentpole blockbuster releases.


Slide from Kevin Tsujihara's presentation
Slide from Kevin Tsujihara's presentation


We know that Jason Momoa will star in 2018's Aquaman, Dwayne Johnson will co-star as Black Adam in Shazam, and Ray Fisher will star in 2020's Cyborg. A separate announcement on Wednesday revealed that indie hearthrob Ezra Miller will play the movie version of The Flash, both across the Justice League movies and in his own movie in 2018. That means that the glum movie Flash and the cheerful TV Flash will co-exist in separate on-screen worlds -- and on-screen Quicksilvers no longer have a numerical advantage.

The biggest surprise in this list is perhaps that DC will take a second swing at Green Lantern, despite the failure of the dreadful 2011 movie. No casting announcement has been made. Ryan Reynolds is surely out of the picture, especially with his Deadpool movie in the works. Dare we hope that Warner Bros plans to bring John Stewart to the big screen?

Here's the full rundown of announced DC movies:

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice, directed by Zack Snyder
Suicide Squad, directed by David Ayer

Wonder Woman (Gal Gadot)
Justice League, directed by Zack Snyder

The Flash (Ezra Miller)
Aquaman (Jason Momoa)

Shazam (Dwayne Johnson as Black Adam)
Justice League 2, directed by Zack Snyder

Cyborg (Ray Fisher)
Green Lantern

More From ComicsAlliance