Contact Us

Tom Scioli

Plot Is Overrated: ‘Transformers Vs. G.I. Joe’ Cartoonist Tom Scioli Reviews ‘Transformers: Age of Extinction’

Untitled-1

I love my job. I make Transformers vs. G.I.Joe comics on a monthly basis (with the help of my co-writer John Barber). As part of due diligence, it's my duty to see Transformers: Age of Extinction. My ticket is a business expense. I'm making my comic not just for fans of Transformers and G.I.Joe, but for the rest of planet Earth, too. As a Transformers author I need to know how the larger world percieves Transformers so that I can play up to certain expectations and run counter to preconceived notions. In that capacity, I documented my observations about the film.

Read More

Best Convention Sketchbook Ever (This Week): Original Art From Heroes Con 2014

Sketch00

Summer is in full swing, which means that convention season is upon us once again, and with it, the opportunity to get art from some of your favorite comic book creators. As much as I like digging through back issue bins and hanging out with pals from across the country, filling up my sketchbook is one of the most fun parts of going to conventions. So much, in fact, that I actually had two in circulation this year.

One was continuing my theme of tokusatsu characters like the Power Rangers and Kamen Rider, while the other was just a general collection of favorite characters. Which, as you might expect, ended up with two drawings of Destro. Check out the new pieces below, featuring art from Tom Fowler, Kevin Mellon, Tom Scioli, Jordan Gibson and more!

Read More

Gorgeous ‘Little Nemo’ Anthology From Paul Pope, Cliff Chiang, Jill Thompson & Others Turns To Kickstarter

Untitled-1

Publisher Locus Moon press has been working on the new anthology book, Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream, for about two years now, and it's asking for fans to help make the long journey come to fruition.

The book,which tasks creators including Paul Pope, John Cassaday, Jill Thompson, Cliff Chiang, J.H. Williams III, Craig Thompson, Carla Speed McNeil, Mike Allred and Roger Langridge, with drawing new, full-page Little Nemo strips in the style of series creator Winsor McCay, will come out in the fall if Locus Moon can raise $50,000 via Kickstarter. The project launched Monday morning, and by mid-afternoon, it was at around $13,000. Not a bad start.

Read More

Tom Scioli And John Barber Talk ‘Transformers vs. G.I. Joe’ [Interview]

Transformers vs. G.I. Joe by Tom Scioli

Transformers vs. G.I. Joe is a crossover that sells it self, but the downside of that is that it's been done often enough that it can be difficult to get excited about the next version. Unless, of course, you tell me that it's going to be co-written, drawn, and lettered by Tom Scioli, the man who wrote the line "Robot Dracula is an efficient torturer" and rendered all other comics obsolete. If you do that, you have my attention, and that's exactly what they did when they announced that Scioli and John Barber were kicking off an ongoing series about the two teams, set to launch with #0 on Free Comic Book Day.

To find out more about how the project came together, I spoke to Scioli and Barber about how the project came together, Scioli's massive pitch document, and how their life-long and relatively recent love of the comics influenced their storytelling. Believe it or not, I don't think we talk about Destro at all.

Read More

Comics by Chance: Not So Random Edition – ‘G.I. Joe’

GI Joe A Real American Hero #16
G.I. Joe A Real American Hero #16

It was announced recently, on this very site, that I'll be co-writing, with John Barber, and drawing Transformers vs. G.I. Joe series for IDW. While my car was being inspected, I stopped at a nearby comics shop and bought $70 worth of dollar back issues of Larry Hama's Marvel G.I. Joe comic. It's since become one of my all-time favorite comics. I wish I would've read these sooner, but I'm kind of glad I didn't because now I can enjoy them for the first time.

Read More

Tom Scioli To Co-Write And Draw ‘Transformers/G.I. Joe’ At IDW [NYCC 2013]

Transformers/G.I. Joe cover by Tom Scioli

At this point, Transformers and G.I. Joe have crossed over so many times that it takes something pretty special to get our attention, and today, IDW did exactly that with the announcement that the latest Transformers/G.I. Joe series will be drawn and co-written by the amazing Tom Scioli.

Seriously, whoever used one of their magic lamp wishes to make this happen, everyone here at ComicsAlliance sincerely thanks you. Check out the full cover, in which Scioli draws Destro and a few other, less important characters, below.

Read More

The Complete Jack Kirby Character Sketchbook (Summer 2013)

Untitled-1

 

For the past few years, I've been taking a sketchbook to conventions across the country and getting pieces of art with a single theme: Characters created or co-created by the King of Comics, Jack Kirby. After 52 sketches, you'd think I'd be running out of characters, but with only a couple repeats, it's still going strong. Today, in honor of Kirby's 96th birthday, I'm putting all the sketches in one place to show some of the best artists working in comics celebrating Kirby's lasting legacy as a creator!

Read More

I Teach You The Superman: Tom Scioli Talks ‘Man Of Steel’ [Spoilers]

0001

It's kind of weird when your generation takes over. I just saw a movie made by a guy who obviously grew up with all the same stuff I did. It's as if the movie was made based on my own notes on what I'd like to see in a Superman movie, but getting exactly what you ask for isn't the same as getting what you want.

Read More

The Con Haul: Highlights From HeroesCon 2013

haul01

As much as I like digging through the quarter bins for a run of Punisher 2099, the real action at a convention always comes from browsing through Artist's Alley for the new books that you can't get anywhere else. As much as the focus at conventions falls on superheroes, there's a lot of great independent stuff out there that you can pick up directly from the people who made it -- and it's especially easy at a convention like Charlotte's HeroesCon, which gives a huge amount of floor space over to the indies.

Read More

The Dennis ‘D-Man’ Dunphy Memorial Awards: ComicsAlliance’s Best Comics of 2012, Part 3

03d-man-1356718348

We didn't realize when we set out to list our favorite comic books of 2012 that it had been such a fun year to be a fan of the medium that we all love so much. The last twelve months offered readers a wide variety of work ranging from the most crowd-pleasing superhero epics to the most idiosyncratic of indies; the return of much missed mangaka and the emergence of exciting new talent; a new crowd-sponsored visibility for self-publishing; and the ascension of the fan artist from bedroom dreamer to Tumblr tycoon. It was a busy a

Read More

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://comicsalliance.com using your Facebook account.

*Please note that your points, prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on Comics Alliance quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here

Please solve this simple math problem to prove that you are a real person.

Register on Comics Alliance quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!