If you live near a Hastings store and want to learn a little bit about making comics from the creators behind some of the best books going, then I have some pretty excellent news. Starting on Saturday, September 19, Hastings is teaming up with Valiant Entertainment to offer a four-week series of in-store workshops called the Craft of Comics, where customers can drop in for a series of live lectures featuring an audience Q&A.

Each week will be focused on a different aspect of comics, including Writing with James Asmus, Pencilling with Clayton Henry, Inking with Ryan Winn and Coloring with David Baron, and everyone who attends will also get a free "workbook" with some tips.

 

 

Here's the schedule from the official announcement:

 

WEEK ONE – WRITING: 
James Asmus (Writer, Quantum and Woody) 
September 19th at 6pm ET (5pm CT, 4pm MT, 3pm PT) 

WEEK TWO – PENCILING: 

Clayton Henry (Artist, Archer & Armstrong) 
September 26th at 5pm ET (4pm CT, 3pm MT, 2pm PT) 

WEEK THREE – INKING: 

Ryan Winn (Inker, Divinity) 
October 3rd at 5pm ET (4pm CT, 3pm MT, 2pm PT) 

WEEK FOUR – COLORING: 

David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn) 
October 10th at 7pm ET (6pm CT, 5pm MT, 4pm PT) 

 

In addition to the workshops, there's also an art contest element to it, where aspiring artists will be asked to pencil, ink or color their favorite Valiant character (presumably Ninjak) for a shot at being published by Valiant, but in all honesty, the real meat here is definitely the workshop itself. Creators like Asmus and Henry have had solid careers from a variety of publishers, and no doubt have some insights that even old hands could learn from.

The workshops will be broadcast to 140 Hastings locations, so for those of you near one, more information can be found here.