Contact Us

lettering

Ask Chris #180: Love Letters

Ask Chris art by Erica Henderson

Q: Lettering: who does it best and why? -- @awa64

A: Comic book lettering is up there with inking and coloring in the holy trinity of underrated comic book skills, but it's also one of those things that, once you start paying attention to it, you'll never be able to not notice it again. I'm not exaggerating even a little bit when I say that it's one of those things that can absolutely ruin a comic if it's done wrong, even if everything else is perfect. But to be honest, of those three elements, lettering is still probably the most underrated.

The thing is, when it's good, it can be absolutely gorgeous in its own right. And fortunately for us, there are a lot of people who do it very, very well.

Read More

Todd Klein Offers Lettering Master Class In Form Of Latest Limited Edition Print

Untitled-2

For years, master of comic book lettering and logo design Todd Klein has released a series of limited edition prints created in collaboration with some of comics’ most superlative talents, each spotlighting Klein's unmatched gift and love for exquisite typography and design. In keeping with that theme, the prints have been ordered alphabetically, with the latest brought to us by the letter K: "Knowledge." And because it is the initial of Klein's surname, the letterer chose to go solo on this print, which, as he writes so beautifully across the top, is a compendium of calligraphic knowledge that all letterers, designers and comic book fans would do well to take to heart.

 

Read More

Filed Under: , , Category: Art, News, Opinion

Stan Sakai Is Proof That Lettering Can, and Should, Be Treated As Art

stansakai-usagiyojimbo-144-05

The bulk of lettering in mainstream comics is meant to be invisible. By invisible I don't mean you can't see it; it's more that you don't notice it. In the '90s, Marvel tipped too far in one direction and gave a bunch of characters distinctive word balloons: Iceman spoke in icy bubbles, the Human Torch in flame balloons

Read More

X-Men Logo Designer Jared K. Fletcher On The Look Of ‘Regenesis’

untitled-2-1315416715


X-Men Regenesis represents for Marvel Comics a considered and comprehensive effort to retool its expansive line of mutant-based titles for a new era and new readers. Predicated upon a schism between Wolverine and Cyclops, the line in

Read More

Moebius On The ‘Monstrous’ Role Of Comic Book Letterers

scan0012

In the most recent edition of his Where The Hell Am I? column for Comic Book Resources, Scalped and Wolverine writer Jason Aaron conducted a brief but fascinating interview with Jared Fletcher about his cr

Read More

Todd Klein & Steve Rude Bring ‘Hope’ to Fans of Lettering and Design [Art]

untitled-1-1306176618

Master of comic book lettering Todd Klein has announced a new addition to a series of works created in collaboration with some of comics' most superlative talents. "Hope" is a new, limited edition print illustrated by Steve Rude with compliment

Read More

Scott McCloud’s Online Lettering Tutorials Are an Awesome Asset [Video]

letteringtutorialmccloud

Lettering's something of a ninja craft. It's taken for granted not because it's inessential, but because -- like makeup -- it's often supposed to go unnoticed as a visual element. If executed improperly, however,

Read More

Ask Chris #43: The Lightning Round Special!

askchrisrusty

Here at ComicsAlliance, we value our readership and are always open to what the masses of Internet readers have to say. That's why we've given Senior Writer Chris Sims the punishment pleasure of stepping into the grand tradition of the Answer Man as he responds to your reader questions.


Over the past few weeks, I'v

Todd Klein’s Logo Studies: Our Favorite Looks at the Art of Lettering

gllogo

For almost 30 years, Todd Klein has been one of the most prominent letterers and designers in comic books, working on everything from "Legion of Super-Heroes" to "Sandman." He's one of the true craftsmen of one of the most often-overlooked aspects of comics, and while it's not surprising that he devotes a lot of time to discussing lettering and logo design on his website, the depth of information he presents and the ent

Read More

Link Ink — Superman and the Snake-King

guruji.rj.240

-Superman, Batman, and Spider-Man team get saved from an evil magician by a guru in this amazing vintage Indian comic of slightly broken English and snakes getting shot into people's mouths. (CBR)

-Despite James Marster's recent complaints about comic

Read More

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://comicsalliance.com using your Facebook account.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on Comics Alliance quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here.

Register on Comics Alliance quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!