Contact Us

todd klein

Ask Chris #180: Love Letters

Ask Chris art by Erica Henderson

Q: Lettering: who does it best and why? -- @awa64

A: Comic book lettering is up there with inking and coloring in the holy trinity of underrated comic book skills, but it's also one of those things that, once you start paying attention to it, you'll never be able to not notice it again. I'm not exaggerating even a little bit when I say that it's one of those things that can absolutely ruin a comic if it's done wrong, even if everything else is perfect. But to be honest, of those three elements, lettering is still probably the most underrated.

The thing is, when it's good, it can be absolutely gorgeous in its own right. And fortunately for us, there are a lot of people who do it very, very well.

Read More

Todd Klein Offers Lettering Master Class In Form Of Latest Limited Edition Print

Untitled-2

For years, master of comic book lettering and logo design Todd Klein has released a series of limited edition prints created in collaboration with some of comics’ most superlative talents, each spotlighting Klein's unmatched gift and love for exquisite typography and design. In keeping with that theme, the prints have been ordered alphabetically, with the latest brought to us by the letter K: "Knowledge." And because it is the initial of Klein's surname, the letterer chose to go solo on this print, which, as he writes so beautifully across the top, is a compendium of calligraphic knowledge that all letterers, designers and comic book fans would do well to take to heart.

 

Read More

Filed Under: , , Category: Art, News, Opinion

‘Little Nemo’ Anthology To Feature Sienkiewicz, Cloonan, Pope, Adams And More

Little Nemo Langridge lede

It's been a big week for Little Nemo. Following the announcement that IDW would be publishing new stories of Winsor McCay's classic creation, Locust Moon Comics, a retailer/publisher, has revealed plans for a Little Nemo anthology. Titled Little Nemo: Dream Another Dream, the title will feature contributions from an extremely impressive list of creators, including Bill Sienkiewicz, Becky Cloonan, Neal Adams, Paul Pope, Brandon Graham, Roger Langridge, Peter Bagge, Farel Dalrymple, J.G. Jones, Chrissie Zullo, Mark Buckingham, Jim Rugg, David Petersen, and many more. Locust Moon has released a few early pages from the project, which you can check out after the cut.

Read More

Link Ink: Ice King’s Memory, S.H.I.E.L.D. At SDCC And ‘Scribblenauts’ Superman

icekingmimobot

Hit the jump for all of today's coolest links.

Read More

Parting Shot: Todd Klein Remembers Christopher Reeve’s Visit to DC Comics in 1979

harriskleinreeve

Besides his ongoing contributions to the comic book medium as one of the industry's greatest letterers and logo designers, Todd Klein maintains an indispensable blog where he regularly hosts master classes in masthead analysis that are peppered with endl

Read More

Javier Pulido Draws Vampires, Satan Worshippers and Spain in ‘The Shade’ #7 [Preview]

untitled-3

On sale this week from DC Comics is The Shade #7, concluding a three-issue run drawn by the great Javier Pulido. Known for his work on Human Target, The Amazing Spider-Man and Robin: Year One, Pulido joined Shade writer James Robinson for the 12-issue series' latest arc which takes place in the artist's home country of Spain -- specifically, Barcelona, where the titular and enigmatic antihero crossed paths with La Sangre, a new vampiric super-heroine, and the Inquistor, a Satan-worshipping villain who wants every soul in the entire city so he can unleash Hell on Earth.

"I'm excited for issue #7 to come out for a lot of reasons," Robinson told DC's The Source blog. "It wraps u

Read More

Parting Shot: ‘Go Freelance,’ The Board Game About Being a Comics Freelancer

freelance-board-game

Considering a career in the illustrious and lucrative field of comic book freelance? Take a spin through the "Go Freelance" board game by famed letterer Todd Klein and artist Shawn McManus and add up your scores for Skill (S), Fame (F) and Income (I) to see if you'll make it big, end up just getting by, or bottom out of the industry forever. You can read about the creation of the piece -- which was inspired by the Game of Life -- on Klein's bl

Todd Klein & Steve Rude Bring ‘Hope’ to Fans of Lettering and Design [Art]

untitled-1-1306176618

Master of comic book lettering Todd Klein has announced a new addition to a series of works created in collaboration with some of comics' most superlative talents. "Hope" is a new, limited edition print illustrated by Steve Rude with compliment

Read More

Todd Klein’s Logo Studies: Our Favorite Looks at the Art of Lettering

gllogo

For almost 30 years, Todd Klein has been one of the most prominent letterers and designers in comic books, working on everything from "Legion of Super-Heroes" to "Sandman." He's one of the true craftsmen of one of the most often-overlooked aspects of comics, and while it's not surprising that he devotes a lot of time to discussing lettering and logo design on his website, the depth of information he presents and the ent

Read More

Link Ink — Superman and the Snake-King

guruji.rj.240

-Superman, Batman, and Spider-Man team get saved from an evil magician by a guru in this amazing vintage Indian comic of slightly broken English and snakes getting shot into people's mouths. (CBR)

-Despite James Marster's recent complaints about comic

Read More

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your points and personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account with your Facebook account, just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing profile and VIP program points. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to http://comicsalliance.com using your Facebook account.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

Register on Comics Alliance quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!

Not a Member? Sign Up Here.

Sign up for an account to comment, share your thoughts, and earn points to get great prizes.

Register on Comics Alliance quickly by logging in with your Facebook account. It's just as secure, and no password to remember!